Delta Epsilon Sigma

  • Winners of DES Writing Competition – January 2022

    • March 1, 2022
    • Posted By : Delta Epsilon Sigma
    • Comments Off on Winners of DES Writing Competition – January 2022


    1st “This Life”, Claire R. Doll, Mount Saint Mary’s University

    2nd (Tie) “Elegy for my Grandfather”, Matthew Williams, Loras College

    2nd (Tie) “Angel of Five” and “Do You Remember”, Anthony Vassalotti,

    Saint Francis University (PA)

    Honorable Mention: “Ghetto”, Tony S. James, Neumann University    

    Short Fiction:

    1st (Tie) “Swimming Lessons”, Claire R. Doll, Mount Saint Mary’s University

    1st  (Tie) “The Ornate Hairbrush”, Rose Watters, King’s College

    These were the only awards in this category

    Creative Nonfiction:

    1st “The Longest Goodbye”, Natalia Nguyen, University of St. Thomas (MN)

    2nd “Rust”, Scott Riner, Saint Francis University (PA)

    Honorable Mention: “Come Out, come out, wherever you are”, Angelina Y. Falcone, King’s College

    Critical/Analytical Essay:

    1st “A Circle of Flaming Roses…”, Hannah Langdon, Thomas More University

    2nd “The Intersubjective Self…I”, Sarah Landerholm, Loras College

    Honorable Mention: “So Let it be written…”, Zander Cojocarleu, Neumann University

    Scholarly Research:

    1st (Tie) “Mary, Queen of Scots…”, Rebekah Balick, Mount Saint Mary’s University

    1st   (Tie) “Women’s Criteria for Choosing Activewear…”, Hope Hansen, University of St. Thomas (MN)

    2nd  “An Analysis of Competing Authorial …..”, Michael Ecker, King’s College

    Honorable Mention: “The Food Fix for Mental Illness….”, Connor Clarke, Saint Francis University (PA)