Delta Epsilon Sigma

learn more about us

Why Join Delta Epsilon Sigma

By joining Delta Epsilon Sigma, you become part of a national scholastic honor society for students, faculty, and alumni of colleges and universities with a Catholic tradition.
Since 1939, member academics, like yourself, recognize the achievement of their colleagues, foster scholarly activities and help to build a sense of intellectual community among its members.
Delta Epsilon Sigma also gives national recognition to outstanding work accomplished by member colleges and chapters.
A total of 119 chapters are part of Delta Epsilon Sigma National Scholastic Honor Society.

Delta Epsilon Sigma National scholastic honor society

The Numbers Say it All Why Choose Us

  • 119
  • 38,848

All the latest News and events

Winners of the Fall 2022 Fitzgerald Scholarships for Study in 2022

Kelsey Sikora, Villa Maria College Tucker Johnson, University of St. Thomas (MN) Jillian Gaffga, Salve Regina University Gabriel Rysavy, St. Mary’s University of MN Angela Slaybe, Saint Anselm College Matthew Williams, Loras College Sarah Mangan, Alvernia University      

Winners of the 2022 Fitzgerald Fellowships for Graduate Study

Emma Bickford, Saint Anselm Michael Ecker, King’s College Lauren Krapfl, Loras  College Ryan Cagnolatti, Regis College Caroline Woodle, Saint Mary’s University of MN                         . 

Exemplifying Faith in Education – Winners of the 2021 Sister Brigid Brady, O.P., Delta Epsilon Sigma Graduate Student Award

Named in honor of Sister Brigid Brady, OP, Ph.D., The DES Graduate Student Award grants graduate student members of DES who have shown a strong commitment to graduate study and maintain the Society’s ideal of service to others.   Name Graduate School Inducting Chapter (Year) Carlie Brainard Emerson College Iona (4/21) Lillian E. O’Brien Cabrini […]

“Intent vs. Interpretation: Who determines meaning?” – Winner of the DES National Undergraduate Student Award – 2022

Michael Q. Ecker, King’s College, wins this year’s National Student Award. Majoring in English and professional writing in addition to minoring in political science and history, Michael’s senior thesis “[Exit Director, Pursued by Playwright]: An Analysis of Competing Authorial Intent and Artistic Interpretation in the Modern Drama” received the highest level of distinction. He also […]

Winners of DES Writing Competition – January 2022

Poetry: 1st “This Life”, Claire R. Doll, Mount Saint Mary’s University 2nd (Tie) “Elegy for my Grandfather”, Matthew Williams, Loras College 2nd (Tie) “Angel of Five” and “Do You Remember”, Anthony Vassalotti, Saint Francis University (PA) Honorable Mention: “Ghetto”, Tony S. James, Neumann University     Short Fiction: 1st (Tie) “Swimming Lessons”, Claire R. Doll, Mount Saint Mary’s University 1st  (Tie) “The Ornate Hairbrush”, Rose Watters, King’s College These were the only awards […]

Loras College Induction Photo 2021

Loras College Induction Photo 2021 About Loras CollegeFounded in 1839, Loras College leverages its historic roots as Iowa’s first college, the second oldest Catholic college west of the Mississippi River and one of the nation’s 10 diocesan colleges to deliver challenging, life-changing experiences as part of its residential, Catholic setting. In 2020, Loras was ranked […]

Winners of the J. Patrick Lee Service Award – 2020

($1,000 to each Award Winner)  *Tamia Reyes – Iona College  *Meaghan Dubois – Saint Anselm College  *Isabella Jacus – Saint Leo University    In addition to the cash award, recipients of the J. Patrick Lee Award for Service will be profiled in an upcoming Delta Epsilon Sigma Journal. 

Winners of DES Writing Competition – January 2021

Poetry:  1st  “In a Bob Ross Painting”,  Abigail Michalski, Cardinal Stritch University   2nd “Juliet”, Molly MacDuff, Loras College  Honorable Mention: “Voyage of Words”, Isiah Lippert, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota  Short Fiction:  1st  “Between the Playlist and the Gas Pedal”, Elizabeth Busch, Mount Saint Mary’s University  2nd  “The Lighthouse”, Scott Riner, Saint Francis University (PA)  Honorable Mention: “A Real Boy”, Caroline […]

Winners of the 2020 Writing Competition-January

Poetry: 1st : “Judas”,  Emmett Perkins, Regis College  2nd  (Tie):  “Chicken and Breadcrumbs”, Erika B. Girard, St. Leo University 2nd (Tie): “On the Pier in Boca Raton”, Madison Tolley, Loras College Honorable Mention: “Irish”, Laura Kandro, Iona College Honorable Mention: “A Pond and Memories”, Giovanni Cantoral, Cardinal Stritch University Honorable Mention: “Three Poems”, Erin Carrus, […]

2019 Writing Competition Submissions

Submissions for the year 2019 Father Edward Fitzgerald Undergraduate Writing Competition in Scholarly and Creative Writing are due on December 1, 2019. Chapter moderators are encouraged to organize their own local contests and send the winning entries to the national competition. Please note that the Executive Board must receive all submissions in Word format (no […]

Donate through Amazon Smile

When shopping on

Thanks to the Amazon Smile program, you can donate to DES
by simply shopping online at Amazon! When you designate Delta Epsilon Sigma
as your chosen charitable organization, DES receives 0.5% of the value of your
Amazon purchase.


  • I have had the great pleasure of being involved with DES as an advisor and on the national board, in some capacity, since 1988. I am not aware of another academic honor society that is so thoroughly student-centered, and which offers so much for its student members: scholarship/fellowship opportunities; service awards; a writing competition and possibility to publish in the society’s publication; a wonderful journal published twice yearly; recognition of student achievement and contribution to their chapters, colleges/universities, and society as a whole. It’s both dynamic and edifying.

    Fr. Anthony Grasso, CSC, Ph.D., Wilkes-Barre, PA